Curtis J. Moody, FAIA

Curtis J. Moody is president and CEO of Moody/Nolan Ltd., Inc., a Columbus-based architectural and engineering firm with offices in Cincinnati and Nashville. He is a registered architect in 25 states.

Moody received his B.S. degree in architecture in 1973 from what is now the Austin E. Knowlton School of Architecture at The Ohio State University. After apprenticing for several Columbus design firms, he formed his own firm in 1982, joining with engineer Howard Nolan two years later. Serving as principal-in-charge for more than $1 billion in construction, Mr. Moody has led the firm to becoming the largest minority-owned architectural firm in the nation.

Moody’s commitment to excellence in the design of higher education facilities is clearly evident on Ohio State’s campus. He has served as principal architect for the Jerome Schottenstein Center, the Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium, the Dreese Laboratory addition, the Library Book Depository, and the Marion Campus Library and Classroom Building. He is currently working on the Larkins Hall Student Recreation Center replacement project. He continues as a strong supporter of his alma mater, helping to sponsor and mentor architecture students. In 1989 Moody used his design fees for Ohio State’s Frank W. Hale Jr. Black Cultural Center to establish an endowed scholarship for an outstanding minority student enrolled in architecture. He has served on the Knowlton School’s Alumni Board of Governors, the Athletic Council, and the National Major Gift Committee for Columbus.

His many other projects in Columbus include The Martin Luther King Jr. Complex for Cultural & Performing Arts, the Mall at Tuttle Crossing, the Smith Brothers Hardware renovation, and expansion of facilities at Port Columbus International Airport. In addition, he has worked as principal or associate architect on numerous projects for universities and communities throughout Ohio and the nation.

Moody’s expertise has been recognized on the local and national levels with numerous design awards from the Columbus and Ohio chapters of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) and the National Organization of Minority Architects. In 1997, he received one of the profession’s highest honors by being named to the College of Fellows of the national AIA. He is also the recipient of the AIA’s 1992 Whitney M. Young Jr. Award to an outstanding minority architect.


No comments: